Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



Billie Starr's book of sorries  Cover Image Book Book

Billie Starr's book of sorries / Deborah E. Kennedy.

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250138439
  • ISBN: 1250138434
  • Physical Description: 304 pages ; 25 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Flatiron Books, 2022.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"Shimmering with rage and sparkling with subtle humor, Billie Starr's Book of Sorries showcases Edgar Award-nominee Deborah E. Kennedy's singular voice as Jenny, a heroine in the vein of Olive Kitteridge and Miles Roby in Empire Falls, and shines a light on the town of Benson, Indiana, where lakes, grudges, and family rifts run deep - but so does a mother's love. Sometimes, a woman has to rescue herself. Jenny Newberg, Queen of Bad Decisions, is about to make another one. In a small town where everyone knows everyone's business, down-on-her-luck single mother Jenny is on a first-name basis with the debt collector at the bank, who is moving toward foreclosure. She is constantly apologizing to her precocious young daughter, Billie Starr, who is filling a book with her mother's sorries, and it seems to Jenny that no apology will ever be enough. Then a pair of strangers in black suits offers her a hefty check to seduce someone known as the Candidate. Finally, something will go her way. But nothing ever goes as Jenny plans, and she is swept into the Candidate's orbit. Surrounded by a wide universe of new ideas, she realizes how constrained her life has been by the expectations of everyone around her, and she starts to see how much more she might be capable of. And when her world is rocked to its core and Billie Starr may be in danger, Jenny is forced to do what she once thought impossible: trust in herself and her own power to make things right"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Single mothers > Fiction.
Political campaigns > Fiction.
Missing persons > Fiction.
Indiana > Fiction.
Genre: Domestic fiction.

Available copies

  • 3 of 5 copies available at Missouri Evergreen. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Ray County. (Show)
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Ray County Library.

Holds

  • 0 current holds with 5 total copies.
Show Only Available Copies
Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Ray County Library F KEN (Text) 2901858130 New Fiction Available -


Additional Resources